Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 16th, 2009

Former P-I reporter Gil Bailey sent these reflections to mark today’s final print edition Seattle P-I.

Mourn not for the Seattle Post-Intelligencer, whose print edition ceased publication today (Tuesday). It was not a great newspaper. Sometimes it was not even a good newspaper.

Mourn for the 140 plus women and men who lost their jobs. Care for them, help, support and pray for them. They fought the good fight, and lost because of the owner of the P-I, the Hearst Corporation.

Business decisions, some very bad judgments, and the owner’s basic lack of interest in its newspapers killed the P-I, and make its new online operation very questionable.

Only in small part the P-I is a victim of the internet which  destroyed classified advertising, and cut into readership. (more…)

Read Full Post »